Back to All Events

Symphony Silicon Valley-Tchaikovsky Fifth Symphony

Tchaikovsky Fifth Symphony
part of season: 2018-2019 Classics Season 
Saturday 8:00 pm March 2, 2019   
Sunday 2:30 pm March 3, 2019   

Our opener is a musical tour through the folk traditions Bartok studied, full of life and complex rhythm. Barber's virtuosic concerto follows, combining lush Romantic lyricism and angular 'modern' energy, with a brilliant ending that is a notorious test of the violinist's skill. In the second half, we hear Tchaikovsky's magnificent symphony, with its unparalleled mastery of all the orchestra's voices -- famously played through without a pause in WWII Leningrad during a ferocious bombing attack.

This concert is part of Subscription Series A, B, C, D, E, & F

Program length: 75 minutes.

Conductor: John Nelson

Soloist(s): Anne Akiko Meyers, Violin

  • Béla Bartók: Romanian Folk Dances, Sz. 56, BB 68

  • Samuel Barber: Violin Concerto, Op. 14

  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64

About John Nelson 
About Anne Akiko Meyers