Back to All Events

Santa Cruz Symphony-Symphonic Fire

  • Santa Cruz Civic Auditorium Santa Cruz (map)

Dvořák's monumental cello concerto will feature our very own internationally renowned principal cellist, Jonah Kim.  Dvorák wrote the cello concerto while living in New York. It was there that both the B minor Cello Concerto and the New World Symphony were written within a few years. 

Rachmaninoff's final symphonic masterpiece, his fiery Symphonic Dances, follows. In it, Rachmaninoff reflects his nostalgia for the Russia he had known.  


DVOŘÁK                         Cello Concerto in B minor [Listen]
                                              JONAH KIM, cello

--- Intermission ---

RACHMANINOFF           Symphonic Dances [Listen]

Earlier Event: January 27
Santa Cruz Symphony-Enlightenment
Later Event: February 24
Santa Cruz Symphony-Symphonic Fire