Back to All Events

Symphony Silicon Valley-Mozart and Mendelssohn

Mozart & Mendelssohn

Saturday 8:00 pm December 8, 2018   
Sunday 2:30 pm December 9, 2018   

Following Mendelssohn's enchanting Overture written during his teens, we hear two great works from late in their composers' lives. The Scottish Symphony, Mendelssohn's last, is filled with echoes of Scotland's stormy, embattled history, punctuated by both a Scottish reel and perhaps the most beautiful Adagio he ever wrote. Mozart's Clarinet Concerto, one of his final works, is a touchstone of the clarinet repertory. With its rich, mellow voice, the solo clarinet seems to engage the orchestra in a loving conversation between friends.

This concert is part of Subscription Series A, B, C, & D

Program length: 77 minutes.

Conductor: William Boughton

Soloist(s): Michael Corner, Clarinet

  • Felix Mendelssohn: A Midsummer Night's Dream Overture in E major, Op. 21

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Clarinet Concerto in A major, K. 622

  • Felix Mendelssohn: "Scottish" Symphony No. 3 in A minor, Op. 56

Earlier Event: November 30
Trans-Siberian Orchestra-Sacramento